Jumble News   Leave a comment

Walked all the way to the 10AM jumbly on Victoria Road, which was pretty ambitious in Syd terms. There’s only so much sitting in a pushchair he can take, and fair enough.
In the queue outside that red-faced mentally-insufficient woman was trying to make friends with Syd.
“That’s lovely smile. It’s nice to get a nice smile from someone, not like these men, eh? Not like these men who all seem to want sexual favours and that, eh?”
“Well, quite,” I said uncomfortably.
“I’m fifty, I’m forty-five, I’m nearly forty-five!” she said brightly.
“You’d have thought they’d have let up a bit.” I said.
“Yes!” she replied, laughing.

All I got was a Uni. college scarf (for my collection. I never wear them, ‘cos you’d look like a cunt) a suede sheepskin-lined waistcoat that’s gone all powdery and fucked, and a small book called “Colours” for Syd. On the first page it says RED STRAWBERRIES and a little wasp has been flattened between the thick cardboard pages.

Off to another one in Haslingfield in about an hour. I’ll let you know how we get on.

Posted October 13, 2001 by peteum2013 in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

