How do you get from Um to KT Tunstall?   Leave a comment

About three or four years ago my mate Rupert, who I was in that band with the stupid name with, was involved in a musical project with his brother’s girlfriend. Are you following this? She was a singer-songwriter type and he was there for beats and production etc. Anyway they played a gig together at 93Feet East and a posse of us went along to support Rupert. He’d fallen in with a bad lot since the band broke up and had unfortunately made a substantial amount of money programming computers, so we wanted to show him that we cared and welcome him back to the exciting world of rock ‘n’ roll. I have few clear memories of the performance, so I suppose it’s possible that I had access to some free beer. I remember thinking this singer girl Kate was decent enough, but I was more interested in watching how the modest Rupert would cope onstage with the seemingly unnecessary role of laptop operator. I think he did a bit of goofy dancing and wore a silly hat, but I can hardly have a go at him for that. Anyway Rupert’s brother and Kate split up (possibly because he lived and worked on the other side of the world, in Oman), and I thought no more about it until a week or so ago, when Rupe told me that one of the songs they did together is going on the next KT Tunstall (for yes, they are one and the same person) single. I presume this means that he will make more money off that than I have in the 10+ years since we did music together, during which time I have toiled single-mindedly to maximise my own artistic greatness in pursuit of fame and fortune. Obviously I’ve failed somewhat, but we’ll see what this Ipswich Community Radio thing might lead to…

Posted July 5, 2005 by peteum2013 in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

