The Ministry Of Shite   Leave a comment

I’m a fan of the documentary form, and when reality TV came along it felt as though the format had been created for me personally. I’ve watched almost all of all of every series of Big Brother, and I’ve had to defend myself and my tastes for this fact. Up until about two-thirds of the way through the most recent house, I have felt no shame. However, in the last few weeks I’ve found myself feeling like a voyeur who is watching some form of social torture. It’s not as though I like the housemates, and I’ve watched Kerry Whassname eating flies on I’m A Celebrity, Get Me Out Of Here and simply sneered, but I felt pangs, people, this time around. It seemed kind of sick. I can’t explain exactly what I mean, but I had a sudden sense of what it might be like to live in a PERVERTED MEDIA DICTATORSHIP, where people are caged in human hutches and forced to do demeaning things for the twisted pleasure of others. I think Endemol might have some kind of hubris shit going on, because I keep expecting them to tone it down. I’m living in a dreamland, obviously, because Davina MacCall keeps popping up and subsuming the unacceptable face of media intrusion with her remarkable brand of populist professionalism. Am I actually making a point in English here? Possibly not. I saw Craig being interviewed by Dermot O’Leary, with his parents sat next to him, and Dermot was asking him about his “relationship” with Anthony. Even Craig, who must be one of the most deluded people on earth, was looking at the camera as if to say “what!?” Dermot O’Leary is meant to be a Catholic. Sorry, foaming at the mouth again.

But yes, Craig and Anthony when Anthony was drunk, and the Kinga thing with the bottle. I did laugh.

Posted August 19, 2005 by peteum2013 in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

