Stasis on the brink.   Leave a comment

It’s a bit weird round here at the moment. I got offered a council flat and my hard disk died on the same day, and even though the former is fantastic news the blow of the latter has stunned me into some numb kind of equilibrium. I think the idea of moving out of the place where I’ve been since 1996 into the first place of my own is messing with my head a bit anyway. I’ve also had to take loads of annual leave and instead of preparing for the mammoth task of transferring the museum of junk I’m sat within to a new location I’ve just been in a computerless haze of suspended animation, like there’s a bad sector on the drive that contains my operating system. I feel like I’m in the little canoe on the calm stretch if river before the waterfall. Plus the weather has changed and the co-op is changing gear into summer mode and I can hear coughing and some fool is playing Leftfield. At this moment I’m waiting for a girl with dreads to wake up so I can borrow the laptop with Linux that she’s borrowed off Steve to see if can get the last few chunks of data off the dying drive before I phone Andy’s Computers (“Your Voodoo – Our Nightmare!”) and talk about components and money and time and favours. My goat curry is extremely tasty, but it isn’t a bargaining position or payment in kind, but merely an acknowlegment of someone else’s charity. Currently I also feel defensive and wounded because I got myself into a stupid argument on Facebook with a schoolfriend who I haven’t set eyes on since the 80s. He thinks I’m a bludger who makes shit music and I think he’s an unwitting cheerleader for evil and we may both be right.

Fuck. Laptop is not having it.

Posted March 24, 2011 by peteum2013 in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

