Bobby Charles   3 comments

Little while ago I was going through piles of records trying to get rid of a few and I found the self-titled LP by Bobby Charles. No idea of provenance, but I’m guessing jumble sale a long time ago. Put it on the turntable to establish condition, decided I liked it and kept it. Thereafter I played when people were round and put it on a mixtape or two and almost began to think I was basically the-guy-that-discovered-Bobby-Charles-without-ever-googling-him-to-discover-who-he-was. I particularly like this song, which googling leads me to discover was written with Rick Danko:

Anyway, couple of weeks ago when I am engaged to DJ at the last ever Duozer gig ever with MV & EE I think to myself that I’m going to play Bobby Charles with my secret intuitive wisdom-jazz and be cool, but no sooner is the record spinning than Simon doozes up with “Ah, you got this…I played you this right, Bobby Charles?” And because I’m totally like “fuck off I invented Bobby Charles” he tells me how when he toured with MV & EE for a bit it was thEE van tape or whatever and I’m like yeah but no, and, this is actually quite surprising, I think…

And then today the man Lee Fisher starts educating the feed about Bobby and instead of soberly sorting out stuff for the gig I drunkenly write this post.

What particularly annoys me is that I had planned to get a photo of my brother and Charlie holding the LP last time we were all together but we got so fucked that we didn’t even listen to the test pressings the meeting was ostensibly convened for. Listening to. And then I coulda put that photo here:

Posted October 10, 2012 by peteum2013 in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

3 responses to “Bobby Charles

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bobby!! I need the lp though. Not last Duozer gig ever man, like Ben and I could split up like that! Just last for a while, and still opens to offers, if the dollars right…..

  2. Oh sorry, my head was fuzzy. You were speaking about the finality of something though, no? Promoting?

  3. Yr head always fuzzy. Yes, promoting. Although, I gave that up 3 years ago anyway. But because I’d given up, I can still have one, yeah?

Leave a Reply

